Steering Panel

The CCP programme is overseen by the CCP Steering Panel, under the current chairmanship of Professor Adrian Mulholland. The Steering Panel comprises the Chairs of all CCPs and two international members (Professors G Ciccotti and Professor Himeno), together with David Corney , as Director of STFC's Scientific Computing Department, and the Director of CECAM.

The Steering Panel looks actively at areas for co-working between CCPs; joint meetings, workshops and training events are common. All CCPs have a strong interest in e-Science and Grid Computing and we are developing a common approach to this.

The current members of the CCP Steering Panel are...

Chairman:Adrian Mulholland
Secretary:Damian Jones
CCP-BioSim:Adrian Mulholland
CCPN:Geerten Vuister
CCP-NC:Jonathan Yates
CCP4:David Brown
CCP-EM:Martyn Winn
CCP9:Mike Payne
CCPi:Philip Withers
CCP5:Neil Allan
CCP12:Stewart Cant
CCPQ:Graham Worth
CCPSAS:Stephen Perkins
CCP-WSI:Deborah Greaves
CCP Pet-MR:Kris Thielmans
CCPP:Tony Arber
CCP CM:Julie Staunton
CCP CDM:Steve Linton
International Membership
University of Roma:Giovanni Cicotti
RIKEN:Ryutaro Himeno
CECAM:Dominic Tildesley
Research Councils
EPSRC:Katherine Freeman
NERC:Frances Collingborn
MRC:Megan Dowie
BBSRC:Michael Ball
ESRC:Fiona Armstrong
STFC:David Corney
STFC:Mark Forster
STFC:Barbara Montanari
High End Consortia
UKCP:Matt Probert
UKTC:Richard Sandberg
MCC:Richard Catlow / Scott Woodley
UK-COMES:Kai Hong Luo
UKCTRF:Nilanjan Chakraborty



  Terms of Reference



Terms of Reference:


  • To promote the work of CCPs among the wider academic and non-academic communities;
  • To seek mechanisms for broadening CCP activities by identifying and nurturing new communities;
  • To seek to broaden the CCP portfolio by promoting the value of such networks with National and International funding agencies;
  • To discuss mechanisms for collaborative working between Projects;
  • To represent and articulate the views of CCP members on strategic computing issues;
  • To prepare periodic brochures and marketing material to promote the activities of the CCP portfolio;
  • To receive regular reports on the progress of each Project.
  • The Steering Panel will meet twice yearly, whenever possible in the month before the SLA Steering Committee meeting;
  • The Steering Panel will report to the Director of STFCs Scientific Computing Department;
  • The Chair of the Steering Panel will be elected by the Panel membership and will serve for a five year period.




  • The Chair (Peter Coveney, University College London)
  • The Chairs of all CCP networks (whether currently funded or not)
  • Representatives of the Research Councils
  • Two International Members (One from an EU Country and one from outside the EU)
  • CECAM Director


Meetings will be attended by:


  • Director of STFCs Scientific Computing Department (David Corney)
  • Professor Mark Savill, Chairman SLA Steering Committee
  • Administrative support provided by the Scientific Computing Department (Shirley Miller)
  • Psi-k Director